The Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize is one of the world's most prestigious awards. It was founded by Alfred Nobel (1833-1896), a Swedish inventor, industrialist, philanthropist and humanist, and is funded by Nobel through the Nobel Foundation.

The Swedish Nobel Prize Ceremony has been held every year since 1901 on the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death on December 10. The Nobel Prize winners, the King and Queen of Sweden and all invites take delight in dining at "Stadshuset," Stockholm's City Hall by the harbor. The festivities celebrate those "who during the preceding year have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind," in accordance with Alfred Nobel's will. The Nobel Prize is awarded in five categories: physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and work for fraternity between nations (peace). To these five prizes, the Bank of Sweden added a special prize in economics in 1968 in celebration of its tercentenary.

Over 700 men and women, leaders within their respective domains, have had their achievements and discoveries universally recognized through the Nobel Prize.

For more information on the Nobel Prize, please see